Dining Hall Politics

Everyone can relate to the obligation of dining hall duty. As members of our community, we have the responsibility to rotate taking on the burden of other’s irresponsibility. While I was parading the dining hall, during my last rotation, I observed how our relationship with our dishes can be translated to politics.

Throughout my meal,  I struggled with the lack of accountability present in our community. A few students held the belief that they should not assist a peer, who had to take two trips, even when they had an extra hand. Occasionally, I noticed a group of students who divided their dirty dishes among themselves. You may be able to relate to this one, the student who believes that because you are on duty you should clean up after them. Now, come time for their week, they will wish that we do not mimic their behavior. Next time that you are rising from your chair, think about your responsibility to the common good.

-Alice Prindeville-Porto

This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Opinion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment